Those that can’t do, teach.

I’ve been meaning to write for a few weeks now, but alas I’ve been busy with my new job! I started substitute teaching at high schools in Rowan County in January. For two weeks I travelled around to different schools to fill in for a day. As we can all probably identify with, substitutes have a difficult job of going into a classroom amidst the generally unruly students who take the teacher’s absent as a do what you want pass. I was amazed at the difference attitudes in different classrooms. Some classes were effortless, state what they need to work on, and the students dig into their work. Others felt like a riot about to happen, and all my effort was spent in stopping students from walking out, or getting into fights. Often I would sign up for a teaching assignment, only to arrive to be in some other subject instead. It seemed like just about every school would have a teacher opening that they would offer me.

I applied to start subbing in Cabarrus County, much closer to home and about $50 more per day for the same work. But I didn’t get the chance, because an assistant principal at Northwest Cabarrus saw my application and reached out to me about a position at their school. The previous teacher had left sorta last minute to work at a community college, and the students were just sitting around waiting for a new teacher. The school was planning on cancelling the classes if they couldn’t find a teacher soon. The classes are Introduction to Engineering and Robotics II. I went to visit the school, and felt good about the various administrators and supervisors, as well as the subject matter. I decided that fate had finally brought me the right next step.

It has been over two years since I finished my Ph.D. and I’ve applied to dozens of engineering jobs, receiving at most a few interviews, and no offers. I was frustrated with the refrain “we’ve decided to go with another candidate that more closely matches our needs.” I doubted myself, and I doubted the value of my education. Then in January, I decided to switch my priority. Instead of looking for a highly specialized career, I should focus on jobs that are in need of people locally. And within a month, I had my own classroom.

Teaching has always been a strong suit of mine, from being a scout camp counselor, to teaching bike repairs, empowering others with knowledge or new skills brings me great joy. I often thought that I would go into teaching later in life, after a career in engineering. But now it feels like this is truly my calling. Instead of advocating and fighting for changing our transportation infrastructure, I’ve switched my energy to preparing the next generation of engineering students. My engineering classes are project focused, getting the students designing and building to understand the different types of engineering. I’m excited about the seeds of awareness I’m sowing, and the opportunities that my students have.

Robots have taken over my mode choice for this year. Bicycles are so last year. Teaching Robotics is awesome. I get to challenge students with design problems, and then encourage them as they problem solve and develop really ingenious solutions. We look at the real world applications of robots, and work in teams on similar projects in our classroom. Developing delivery robots, integrating autonomous functions, and building mechanical arms have been our task thus far. Our final project is building a librarian assistant robot that can reshelf books in the media center. Robotics is a great application for my perspectives in transportation and engineering.

I’m planning on getting our Robotics Club / Team going again, something that’s been shelfed since COVID. I had the opportunity to be a judge at the NC State Robotics Championship this weekend. Seeing the incredible student Robots, hearing about their design choices, and talking about the strategy of competition and autonomous function was so much fun. I hope to have our team at the State Championship next year, creating a space for our students to compete while gaining a valuable experience for their futures in engineering.

Having full time employment is a big change for me as well. I’m finally earning more than federal poverty line, and even have benefits and retirement. This is the first time I’ve really worked 5 day weeks since 2015 (what a dream!), and the weekends seem to fly by. The mornings are early, but I have the afternoons to garden, play music, or to read. I’m excited to have the summer off to travel, catch up on projects, and celebrate my freedom. But most important to me, I don’t have any guilt. When I was advocating and working in the bicycle crisis center, it seemed that I could never give enough. Now when the day is done, I know that I’ve done my best and it is more than enough.

The structure has brought a lot of stability to my mental health as well. Getting up early and being so productive makes me feel my best. And being in front of students always fills me with energy to rise to the occasion, something that was often difficult when I was a computer operator. My school is right around the corner from my house, and I’ve started riding my bike the four miles to get to work. My route takes me along a greenway and through some neighborhoods, with only a few sections of busy car traffic. It seems that the Universe found the right place for me to be, right where I already was.

One thought on “Those that can’t do, teach.

  1. Wonderful to work for good right in the corner where you are. It’s the “Secret to Success” so very proud to know you my friend. Salute !

    Like

Leave a comment